Amazon Web Services: Accelerating Digital Diffusion

Antonio Grasso
4 min readDec 16, 2021

Article in partnership with Amazon Web Services

We’ve reached a point of no return: digital technologies are pervasive, ubiquitous, and have penetrated every aspect of our lives.

My regular readers will remember the digital diffusion paradigm I outlined in some of my previous posts. Essentially, the concept is borrowed from chemistry and biology, and refers to the spread and proliferation of matter and biological life. Similarly, digital diffusion was borne of our desire to transcend our limitations — to move the needle forward and improve quality of life through innovations, discoveries, and technologies.

Recently, I had an opportunity to reflect on this, as I listened to a joint presentation by Amazon Web Services’ CEO, Adam Selipsky, and Werner Vogels, the company’s CTO. During a week-long virtual conference, AWS re:Invent, I learned that AWS is far more than the largest cloud enablers for businesses. Its data centers are now all over the planet, and its services are incredibly varied, both in terms of infrastructure and application. Simply put, a new customer is spoiled with options, to the point where they can find just about any conceivable service for their application.

I say this from experience. Last summer, I used AWS cloud for a project that my company is about to release. It promises to innovate the insurance sector’s claims and risk assessment functions based on a patented computer vision innovation. I will have more to say about this…

--

--

Antonio Grasso

Author, technologist, sustainability advocate | FRSA | B2B digital creator & influencer | Founder & CEO @dbi.srl